About NaropaLeadershipPast Presidents

Past Presidents

Since the founding of the Naropa Institute in 1974, many individuals have contributed to its growth and development. While the designations of Naropa’s leadership positions have changed over its history, each of the individuals in these positions of leadership has offered exemplary vision and direction to shape Naropa’s path.

Naropa's Leaders

7th President, 22 July 2012–present

6th President, 2011–2012

5th President, 2009–2011

4th President, 2003–2009

3rd President, 1993–2003

2nd President, 1985–1993

1st President, 1974–1985

Dean, 1980–1985

Co-Director (with William McKeever), 1978–1980
Co-Director (with Reginald Ray), 1978–1980 Executive Director, 1977–1978

Vice President, 1974–1975

Executive Director, 1974–1975

Search Naropa University


This is where experiential learning meets academic rigor. Where you challenge your intellect and uncover your potential. Where you discover the work you’re moved to do—then use it to transform our world.

“*” indicates required fields