Alumni Accomplishments

The Jack Kerouac School of Disembodied Poetics is proud of the accomplishments of its graduates. Please email any alumni news: recent publications, events, and other achievements. Announcements are made regularly on the blog.


Graduates of the Jack Kerouac School have received numerous grants and awards, including National Endowment for the Arts fellowships, Fulbright fellowships, Colorado State Arts grants, Grammy Awards, Pushcart Prize, Gertrude Stein Awards for Innovative Writing, Raymond Carver Contest, PRISM International Short Story Award, Academy Nicholl Fellowship in Screenwriting, Atlantic Monthly Student Writing Contest in Fiction, National Poetry Series Dana Award in the Novel.

Book Prizes

Graduates have also been the recipients of several book prizes: American Book Awards, Fence Motherwell Prize, Poetry Society of America's Norma Farber First Book Award, Lambda Literary Awards, Next Generation Indie Book Award, El Premio Aztlan Literary Prize, PEN/Hemingway Award, and Fordham University's Poets Out Loud Editor's Prize.

Selected Publications

Erik Anderson: The Poetics of Trespass (Otis Books/Seismicity Editions, 2010).

Michelle Auerbach: The Third Kind of Horse (Beatdom Books, 2013)

Richard Froude: FABRIC: Preludes to the Last American Book (Horse Less Press, 2011).

j/j hastain: Prurient Anarchic Omnibus (Spuyten Duyvil, 2011).

Jared Hayes: The Dead Love: Hands and More Hands Together (Black Radish Books, 2012)

Tim Z. Hernandez: Breathing, In Dust (Texas Tech University Press, 2010)

Laird Hunt: Neverhome (Coffee House Press, 2014); Kind One (Coffee House Press, 2012); Ray of the Star (Coffee House Press, 2009)

Rachel Levitsky: Neighbor (Ugly Duckling Presse, 2009)

Miranda Mellis: The Spokes (Solid Objects, 2012); None of This Is Real (Sidebrow, 2012)

Jai Arun Ravine: แล้ว and then entwine (Tinfish Press, 2011); Is This January (Corollary Press, 2010)

John Sakkis: The Islands (Nightboat Books, 2015)

Sarah Elizabeth Schantz: Fig (Simon & Schuster, 2015)

Eleni Sikelianos: Body Clock (Coffee House, 2008)

McCormick Templeman: The Little Woods (Schwartz & Wade, 2012)

Kaisa Ullsvik Miller: unspoiled air (Fence, 2008)

Chris Vitiello: Obedience (Ahsahta Press, 2012)